When you set up a print option on one of your products, you are shown the current cost to print each copy of the product. You are then asked to set the margin you want for that title.
In order to serve customers as inexpensively as possible, we print titles in both the US and the UK, whichever offers better freight terms to the customer.
Print costs in the US and UK are different, however, so a slightly different print cost is deducted from different orders for your same printed title, depending on where it was printed.
When you set the price of your title, we show you only the higher of the US or UK print cost so you know the worst-case scenario for your margin per sale.
Let’s say a the cost to print your book in the U.S. is $11.30. You choose to set a retail price of $19.99, making your gross profit per sale $8.69 (i.e., $19.99 - $11.30).
When a printed copy sells, we split that $8.69 margin with you, per our usual earnings agreement (i.e., at the same percentage you get on download sales, depending on whether you are an exclusive or non-exclusive partner). Thus, if you sell your digital titles exclusively with us, meaning your earnings are 70% per sale, you would receive 70% of $8.69 (or $6.08) per book sold.
This earning amount is credited to your publishing partner account earnings in real time, just as when a customer purchases one of your digital download products.